hostbay.blogg.se

Pimsleur german level 1
Pimsleur german level 1






pimsleur german level 1

I have been using several different methods and programs to help my German and I do believe that this program has helped me the most in getting my German speaking to a higher level. This worked very well for me, so I am going to rate it highly. Note: I am half way through German 2, so this review is really for all thirty lessons in German 1 and not just for lessons 1-5. Sometimes the pronunciation between the two speakers varies a little ("nicht" for example) but I think that exposes listeners to natural variations between dialects.

PIMSLEUR GERMAN LEVEL 1 HOW TO

It's difficult to read German even after learning how to speak German without knowing the spelling. "Verstehen" sounds like it has an F at the beginning, and "Wol" sounds like "vol" to the English speaker. As with both books, Pimsler never tells you how to spell anything! I constantly have to go to Google Translate to learn the spelling. I suppose that helps prepare listeners for a fluent German conversation, but it leaves beginners in the dust. In comparison, Paul Noble's book starts with words that sound similar to English, like "I can camp" or "ich kann campen." The Pimsler course also presents everything in a quick conversational tone, and rarely slows down to exaggerate pronunciation. Pimsler starts with one of the trickiest words in German - "excuse me" or "entshuldigen sie," which is a mouthful and doesn't sound like English. However, I'm glad I did Paul Noble's book first, otherwise I would be lost with the Pimsler course. The Pimsler course is already expanding my vocabulary within the first few lessons. I got the Pimsler course after listening to Paul Noble's Learn German all the way through. I'm glad it wasn't my first German lesson








Pimsleur german level 1